Entries are judged on their own merits through a rigorous, three-stage process. Judges are CEOs and leading figures from design commissioning businesses across industry and have been carefully chosen for their business experience and acumen, as well as their understanding of how design can - and does - create change in business and society. From global companies, through to start-up challenger brands, their organisations understand how design can be used to create results.

Judging panel 2022

Clive Grinyer, Head of Service Design, Royal College of Art
Chair of the DBA Design Effectiveness Awards judging panel

Paul Fraser, Managing Director
3V Natural Foods

Marc McNeill, Consumer Buying Experience Director
Auto Trader Group

Raj Kumar, Group Brand & Reputation Director

Christopher Padain, VP and Head of Design & Packaging
Bayer Consumer Healthcare

Stacey Clark, CMO
British Land

Steve Kearns, Managing Director
Cawston Press

Adriano Torres, Senior Director Global Marketing
Coca-Cola Company

Deb Caldow, Global Brand, Sponsorship & Sustainability Director
Costa Coffee

Shweta Harit, Global Brand Vice President evian & Volvic

Pernilla Johansson, Former Chief Design Officer

Cheryl Calverley, CEO
eve sleep

Tia McPhee, Global Brand & Partnerships Director
Financial Times

Andrew Barraclough, Vice President of Design

Lucy Sinclair, Director of Market Insight

Gianluca Brugnoli, Chief Design Officer

Hilary Pulver, Global Marketing Operations &Excellence Director
Jacobs Douwe Egberts

Paula Rowntree, Head of Branch Formats & Design
Lloyds Banking Group

Helen Curran, Marketing Director
Nûby UK

Jenny Fleischer, Chief Marketing Officer

Stephen White, Head of Design - Global Beverages Group

Tysonn Betts, Design Vice President, Right Brain to the Business
PG Ventures - Family Care

Sigrid Brewka-Steeves, Head of Global Retail Environments

Lauren Pleydell-Pearce, Executive Creative Director

Stephanie Verschoor, Global Director & Head of Design, UX and Brand Experience

Nina Warburton, Head of Design, Philips Personal Health
Royal Philips

Samantha Jameson, Founder

Adrian Evans, Food Transformation Director UK

Olivia Salisbury, Group VP of Digital
T. Rowe Price

Amjid Rasool, Head of Service Design
Tesco Bank

Julie Dixon, Head of Information, Design & Partnerships
Transport for London (TfL)

Seiya Ohta, VP User Experience

Anindya Sundar Das, Senior Director & Head of Global Service Design

Siobhan Fitzpatrick, VP Digital & Distribution
Virgin Atlantic

Phil Gowland, Commercial & Marketing Director

Grand Prix judging panel 2022 

James Bruce, Chief Executive Officer
Buro Happold

Laura Citron, Chief Executive Officer
London & Partners

Tim Reeve, Deputy Director & Chief Operating Officer

Helen Brocklebank, Chief Executive Officer

Previous DBA Design Effectiveness Awards Judges discuss the diversity of entries seen across entries.